Hunter x Hunter Heights/Tidbits

Since going through the holy shounen trilogy, I also found some nostalgia for Hunter x Hunter. It’s another ongoing series, and will probably be ongoing until I’m an old man at the rate things are going. Still, it’s a great series and a fun trip down memory lane. Like the HST, Hunter x Hunter has gotten databooks over the years giving us some important information like character heights. I’m going to list the main character heights here, then rely on Hunterpedia for the rest, who have compiled all given heights from the databooks or elsewhere.

Gon – 1.54 m, 49 Kg

Killua – 1.58 m, 45 Kg

Kurapika – 1.71 m, 59 kg

Leorio – 1.93 m, 85 Kg

Hisoka – 1.90 m, 91 Kg

 

In the case of Hisoka, a databook mentions him being a different height from the manga itself. Obviously in a case like this I’m going with what the manga says.

In regards to tidbits, Hunter x Hunter is fairly straight forward in its feats, I’ve found. It is, after all, by the same author that made Yu Yu Hakusho. So you can perhaps expect some of the same tidbits here as from that series (Minus the lack of given heights).

One thing to keep in mind is that the beginning of the series is almost entirely absent of Nen, HxH’s energy that grants special abilities. So until Nen’s in-depth introduction, there isn’t a lot to calculate outside of slightly superhuman feats. I’m re-reading the manga for fun anyway, so if I find anything from the Hunter Exams worth mentioning, it’ll be on here. Otherwise, it would probably be best to expect to see calculations starting after the Hunter Exam.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention. Hunter x Hunter’s world is like a jumbled up version of our own. Here is the world map:

hxh

So how good is your geography? I’m from the US, so it won’t surprise you to find out that only some of this is recognizable. lol

The most obvious, perhaps, is the upside-down South America in the top left corner of the map. The map really only comes into play for one feat as far as I remember, but still worth keeping in mind. Also, we later find out that the “Dark Continent” makes this map waaaaay bigger, but it’s irrelevant for now.

I’ll probably be going through HxH for the next 200 or so chapters, rounded to the nearest arc just like I did with the HST previously. So keep an eye out for calculations!